Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

samedi, 01 octobre 2005

...précisément il y a cent dix-huit ans...

Brut de décoffrage:

I am fully aware that I and I only am to blame as far as responsibility. Nor think that I will allow feelings to permit me to do a foolish thing that could benefit nobody, and simply injure all concerned.And while I cannot tell what the exact step to be taken--as yet--is, or what it will result in, I will not be party to right being subservient to any other motive. Don't think I am making any mystery now. I am not. But I want you simply to be prepared, when such occasion may occur, to quickly and calmly use your best judgement, and not by my leaving the possible consideration of steps that may not be necessitated, until such time or action has to be taken, then be flurried by being taken unexpectedly. All I want you to understand is that if it becomes necessary to deal decidedly with a man who is not a fool, you will be prepared to act without rashness; and further that I will not pursue a course of temporizing simply because I do not want to fairly face what may not be pleasant. . . .I have made no attempt at concealment and have so informed those who have spoken with me. It may be very painful and humiliating, but nothing is gained by an attempt at evading it. . . . And it is these sudden impulses that I must look out for. It is one long continuous want or craving. (October 1, 1887)

Pour en savoir plus...

 

 

Commentaires

joli texte, qui m'a en plus, ravie de voir que je comprenais toujours l'Anglais, langue que je ne pratique pas assez à mon gout.

Écrit par : la jeune divorcée | samedi, 01 octobre 2005

Les commentaires sont fermés.