Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

mercredi, 08 février 2023

08022023 (parson's nose)

Grâce à Will Self je découvre parson’s nose mais comme je ne comprenais pas si ça désignait le croupion ou le sot-l’y-laisse, des ami-es anglophones m’ont aidé : c’est le croupion. Toutefois, le mystère n’est pas entièrement levé, car d’après au moins un collègue américain l’expression pope’s nose – dont j’avais rapidement pensé qu’elle désignait la même partie des volailles, mais d’un point de vue anticatholique (ou catholique ?) – désignerait en fait le sot-l’y-laisse. Ce site n’est pas d’accord, et y repère des synonymes stricts.

Une autre collègue a aussi indiqué l’existence de sultan’s nose pour le croupion, et informé les cruciverbistes du terme savant (pygostyle).

Je pense que c’est l’occasion, à tout le moins, de proposer un pot-pourri.

 

Currawong, wattlebirds, magpie-larks-she's beginning to warm to the natives here, their sheer numbers and exuberance. Yet when she was last in Wellington she picked up a soft toy in a tourist shop, pressed the button, and listened to the familiar sound. She wishes she'd brought it back even though the silly thing was quite ugly and didn't look anything like a tui. All over the city, clowning and mimicking, whistling, clucking, and chortling, going crazy with song from the tree in her old backyard. Parson bird, she'd read somewhere. The tuft of white at the throat. She doesn't like the word parson. It sounds uptight. Undelicious. Parson's nose. (Alison Wong. “Home”. World Literature Today, Vol. 90, Iss. 6,  Nov/Dec 2016, pp. 28-29)

 

She starts preparing the turkey, pulling out a small white bag of unsavory internal organs. Out comes the tail. “Oh, there's the pope's nose,” my mother says, and laughs. My husband, a very lapsed Catholic but nonetheless son of a deacon, stiffens. I sense he finds the comment somewhat offensive, and I panic that we may be in for a tiff. (Anne Panning. “Ultrasound”. Iris, Iss. 47, 2003, p. 52)

 

My father has retreated from my mother for the moment, or perhaps for all of time. He is letting me do the shouting. She angles her wings, cuts the air, circles, makes a beautiful descent, beautiful like she was once beautiful. She maneuvers, dives above our heads, shits on us again, most of it exploding on my father, his head and his arms. Only the splatter reaches me, mainly on my feet. She is ignoring me the way she always ignores me when I make a good point, which makes me want to get technical and deliver information that is lofty and true, so she will have to accept it. “Have your bones not fused into a single ossification?” I say. “Are you not now possessed. Mother, of a pygostyle?” I would swear I hear a remnant of her laughter – airborne, avian, changed utterly, but still her laughter. “Don't think you can lord over us just because you have a fused sternum,” I shout, my head tilted, my eyes trying to follow her jagged flight. I know what she is thinking. I can always read her mind. Right now, she is thinking about my education: You and your damn reports. You and your damn learning. She makes another arcing pass and shits on us again. Most of it explodes on me this time. It is all so anomalous – the beauty of her flight, the way her wings stretch out and veer subtly, her body floating in the air above us, making graceful motions in service of her base intentions. (Mark Berley. “What kind of bird are you?” Iowa Review. Winter 2013/2014, Vol. 43 Issue 3, 2014, pp. 35-40)

 

Pour sultan’s nose, je n’ai pas trouvé de citation vraiment pertinente dans le sens culinaire de l’expression, mais ne résiste pas au plaisir de vous envoyer lire un poème de Cummings.

 

Les commentaires sont fermés.